Skip to main content

Cycletron Center

On 2014, “King Hamad university Hospital “established the first cyclotron and PETCT facility in the Kingdom of Bahrain and the site was able to produce sterile injectable radiopharmaceuticals. The facility was established to fulfill IAEA and European good manufacturer practice (GMP) guidelines for radiopharmaceuticals production. On 2015 the facility was certified as a European GMP site. March, 2015 the first routine production of 2-[18F] fluoro-2-deoxy-D-glucose ([18F] FDG) successfully completed and patient injected with first dose locally produced.

“King Hamad university Hospital” cyclotron site equipped with 16.5 MeV PETtrace 800 GE cyclotron and Fastlab synthesizer which was installed at the initial stage. In addition, automatic dispenser to dispense the final product under sterile environment in vails for patient injections.

The routine production started with 18F- FDG which is the mostly used radiopharmaceutical for the diagnosis and staging of cancer. On 2016, a new synthesis module (Fastlab developer) was installed. Installation of this new module allow the facility to implement additional radiopharmaceuticals on routine basis to fulfill the clinical demand especially after starting the service in Bahrain oncology center. Hence, two new radiopharmaceuticals were added to the daily production list including 68Ga- DOTAT TOC for neuroendocrine tumor imaging and 18F-PSMA for prostate cancer patients. Implementation of those two tracers started only after process validation of each tracer to ensure that the final product is fulfilling the requirements of injectable radiopharmaceuticals according to European GMP.

Currently, upgrade of cyclotron is ongoing to install Gallium target for 68Ga radiopharmaceuticals production. This will be added value of the cyclotron facility to have 68Ga available onsite which was being produced using outside source Germanium/Gallium generator.

Imaging of patients post radiopharmaceuticals injection is being done by PET/CT machine and state of art PET/MR which installed June, 2019.

King Hamad University Hospital ©  Copyright 2019-2020

تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

وحدة الطب النووي والنظائر المشعة

أنشأ "مستشفى الملك حمد الجامعي" أول مرفق للطب النووي والنظائر المشعة و PETCT في عام 2014 وكان الموقع قادرًا على إنتاج أدوية إشعاعية معقمة قابلة للحقن. تم إنشاء المرفق طبقا لإرشادات الوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية وممارسات التصنيع الأوروبية الجيدة (GMP) لإنتاج المستحضرات الصيدلانية المشعة. في عام 2015 ، تم اعتماد المنشأة من الموقع أوروبي لممارسات التصنيع الجيدة. وفي مارس 2015 تم الانتهاء بنجاح من أول إنتاج روتيني لـ 2- [18 فهرنهايت] فلورو-2-ديوكسي-د-جلوكوز ([18 فهرنهايت] إف دي جي) وحقن المريض بالجرعة الأولى المنتجة محليًا.

إن وحدة الطب النووي والنظائر المشعة بمستشفى الملك حمد الجامعي مجهزة بـ 16.5 MeV PETtrace 800 GE ومركب Fastlab والذي تم تركيبه في المرحلة الأولية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، موزع أوتوماتيكي لتوزيع المنتج النهائي في بيئة معقمة في أوعية لحقن المريض.

بدأ الإنتاج الروتيني بـ 18F-FDG وهو الدواء الإشعاعي الأكثر استخدامًا لتشخيص السرطان وتحديد مرحلة السرطان. في عام 2016 ، تم تثبيت وحدة تركيب جديدة (Fastlab developer). يسمح تركيب هذه الوحدة الجديدة للمنشأة بانتاج أدوية إشعاعية إضافية على أساس روتيني لتلبية الطلب السريري خاصة بعد بدء الخدمة في مركز البحرين للأورام. ومن ثم ، تمت إضافة مادتين جديدتين من الأدوية المشعة إلى قائمة الإنتاج اليومية بما في ذلك 68Ga- DOTAT TOC لتصوير الورم العصبي ا و 18 F-PSMA لمرضى سرطان البروستاتا. لم يبدأ تنفيذ هذين المركبين إلا بعد التحقق من صحة العملية لكل منهما للتأكد من أن المنتج النهائي يفي بمتطلبات الأدوية المشعة القابلة للحقن وفقًا لـ GMP الأوروبي.

تجري حاليا أعمال لتطوير الوحدة لتثبيت هدف Gallium لإنتاج الأدوية المشعة 68Ga. ستكون هذه قيمة مضافة لمنشأة الطب النووي لتوفير 68Ga في الموقع والتي تم إنتاجها باستخدام مصدر خارجي من مولد الجرمانيوم / الغاليوم.

يتم تصوير المرضى بعد حقن الأدوية الإشعاعية بواسطة جهاز PET / CT وأحدث جهاز PET / MR الذي تم تركيبه في يونيو 2019

© 2019 مستشفى المللك حمد الجامعي