Skip to main content

Stroke Unit

Stroke care at King Hamad University Hospital

Stroke is medical emergency requiring urgent medical aid and is the most common cause of death after coronary artery disease. Further, the fact that the disease can cripple a person and even push him to a persistent vegetative state necessitates the timely identification and management within the ‘golden hours’ of its onset.

At KHUH, we have a dedicated stroke team, encompassing Doctors, Technicians and Nurses working round the clock with an evidence based protocol for acute stroke management, ensuring the best patient outcomes. The system works with a conjoined collaboration of varied departments in the hospital including the Emergency, Radiology, Internal medicine, Neurology, ICU, Anaesthesia and Laboratory. Our aim is to provide adequate patient care within the ‘golden hour’ and the stroke team responds promptly on receipt of "Code Stroke". Such a rapid action is very vital for a disease like stroke where even the time for blink of an eye has immense significance.

The Clinical Stroke assessment is done within EMD. In cases of stroke suspicion, time lag is avoided with the activation of Stroke Code via overhead paging, in addition to personal alert for the team members. The patient is stabilised with primary care in the due time and relevant laboratory tests are done with immediate effect. All suspected acute stroke patients are subjected to undergo neuroimaging including CT/CTA and MRI/MRA to facilitate the diagnosis of affected area of brain. This is done in time efficient manner ensuring that the next ‘on scan’ shall be the stroke patient. All eligible patients are administered with thrombolytic medication.

Further, we have a dedicated interventional team to provide endovascular therapy/mechanical thrombectomy, under the guidance of Dr.Wael Hamed Abd Al Hamid, who has a good expertise over interventional radiology and reputable clinical background of 25 years. The mechanical thrombectomy is a potential treatment for occlusion of large cerebral arteries like middle cerebral artery. When the procedure is performed within 12 hours of onset of symptoms, it significantly reduces the morbidity and disability resulting from Stroke. Further the radiology department of our hospital is equipped with two angiography suites; providing diagnostic and therapeutic treatments using advanced minimally invasive techniques with image guidance. Our Hospital is one of the only units of this kind in the Kingdom of Bahrain, equipped with cutting edge technology and human expertise.

King Hamad University Hospital ©  Copyright 2019-2020

تجاوز إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

وحدة علاج الجلطات بمستشفى الملك حمد الجامعي

وحدة علاج الجلطات بمستشفى الملك حمد الجامعي

السكتة الدماغية هي حالة طبية طارئة تتطلب مساعدة طبية عاجلة وهي السبب الأكثر شيوعًا للوفاة بعد مرض الشريان التاجي. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن حقيقة أن المرض يمكن أن يشل شخصًا وحتى يدفعه إلى حالةمستمرة من الغيبوبة يتطلب تحديد وإدارة في الوقت المناسب في غضون "الساعات الذهبية" من بدايته.

يوجد في مستشفى الملك حمد الجامعي فريق متخصص في السكتة الدماغية يشمل الأطباء والفنيين والممرضات الذين يعملون على مدار الساعة وفق بروتوكول قائم على الأدلة لإدارة السكتة الدماغية الحادة ، مما يضمن أفضل النتائج للمريض. يعمل النظام بتعاون مترابط من أقسام متنوعةفي المستشفى بما في ذلك الطوارئ والأشعة والطب الباطني والأعصاب ووحدة العناية المركزة والتخدير والمختبر. إن هدفنا هو توفير رعاية كافية للمرضى خلال "الساعة الذهبية" حيث يستجيب فريق السكتة الدماغية على الفور عند تلقي رمز الحالة مثل هذا الإجراء السريع أمر حيوي جدًا لمرض مثل السكتة الدماغية حيث حتى وقت غمضة العين له أهمية كبيرة.

يتم تشخيص السكتة الدماغية السريرية في قسم الطوارئ. في حالات الشك في السكتة الدماغية ، يتم تجنب الفارق الزمني من خلال تفعيل رمز السكتة الدماغية ، بالإضافة إلى التنبيه الشخصي لأعضاء الفريق. يتم مراقبة المريض بالرعاية الأولية في الوقت المناسب ويتم إجراء الاختبارات المخبرية ذات الصلة على الفور. جميع مرضى السكتة الدماغية الحادة المشتبه بهم يخضعون لتصوير الأعصاب بما في ذلك التصوير المقطعي والرنين المغناطيسي لتسهيل تشخيص المنطقة المصابة من الدماغ. يتم ذلك بطريقة فعالة من حيث الوقت لضمان التشخيص الصحيح للسكتة الدماغية.و يتم إعطاء جميع المرضى أدوية التخثر بعد التأكد من أهليتهم لذلك.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، فإن لدينا فريق تدخلي مخصص لتقديم العلاج داخل الأوعية الدموية و استئصال الخثرة الدموية ، بتوجيه من الدكتور وائل حامد عبد الحميد ، الذي لديه خبرة جيدة في الأشعة التداخلية وخلفية سريرية ذات سمعة طيبة لمدة 25 عامًا. يعد استئصال الخثرة علاجًا محتملًا لانسداد الشرايين الدماغية الكبيرة مثل الشريان الدماغي الأوسط حيث يتم تنفيذ الإجراء في غضون 12 ساعة من ظهور الأعراض ، فإنه يقلل بشكل كبير من المضاعفات الناتجة عن السكتة الدماغية. علاوة على ذلك ،وقد تم تجهيز قسم الأشعة في المستشفى بجناحين لتصوير الأوعية و توفير العلاجات التشخيصية والعلاجية باستخدام تقنيات دقيقة مع توجيه الصور. يعتبر مستشفى الملك حمد الجامعي الأول من نوعه في هذا المجال في مملكة البحرين والمجهز بأحدث التقنيات والخبرات الطبية.

© 2019 مستشفى المللك حمد الجامعي